top of page
Search

Settling Into the DCP


Hi there, readers! It’s already been over 3 weeks since starting my DCP, but it honestly feels like a lot longer than that! My new adventures here sure have kept me busy, so I figured it was time for another update. My goal is to blog around every two weeks or so (give or take lol).



Most of my time over the last 2 weeks has been spent training and working in my role of merchandise. I started training at Disney University (where I had my Traditions class) for a few days, then moved over to the Magic Kingdom to start really working! I’m planning to (eventually) write a whole post about what my role entails, so for now I will just give an overview. I work 5 days a week and most of my shifts range from 8-10 hours per day. Merchandise in Frontierland includes working at about 5 different shops, a shooting arcade game, and a merchandise cart. Some of the tasks I'm assigned are working at the registers, “merchantaining” (greeting and connecting with guests), selling Splash Mountain photos, stocking, pin trading, and serving delicious treats (such as rice krispie treats and fudge) from the “general store”. It has been magical getting to meet and interact with guests from all over the world and of all ages. I also love my fellow Frontierland cast members and already feel so at home there!



I have two days off from work per week. Those days are spent grocery shopping, going to the gym, doing laundry and chores, catching up on my “to-do list”, and exploring WDW and the parks of course! I’ve been to Disney Springs, the Boardwalk, a few resorts, and all four parks so far on my DCP. I definitely try to squeeze in as much park time as I can! Depending on my shift, I usually go to the parks before or after work (unless I’m scheduled morning to night, which does happen often). I’ve made a lot of memories so far at the parks and beyond; here’s just some of those memories from the last two weeks!


-Meeting Olaf on a “cold” Florida day and chatting about all things summer

-Exploring Toy Story Land with some of my roomies

-Hitting up Festival of the Arts at Epcot — especially seeing the Disney Broadway Concert Series and performers such as Gavin Lee (Original Bert from Mary Poppins), Heidi Blickenstaff (The Little Mermaid, Freaky Friday), Adam Jacobs (The Lion King, Aladdin), and Arielle Jacobs (High School Musical tour, Aladdin)

-Meeting some “emotional characters” (Joy & Sadness) with Marie at Epcot

-Photoshooting at the Bubblegum wall on National Bubblegum Day with Madeline

-Meeting Chip at Epcot and later dancing the night away with him at Animal Kingdom (really wish Madison and Marie could have come along!)

-Meeting one of my favorite DCP vloggers, Shelby

-Riding Expedition Everest 6 times within 3 days

-Getting late-night ice cream at Ample Hills Creamery on the Boardwalk with my roomies

-Madison, Marie, and I catching up with Mickey and Minnie about their safari adventures

-Watching the Happily Ever After fireworks while riding one of my favorites, Splash Mountain

-Experiencing my first backstage tour (Tower of Terror) with my coworkers

-Having a hoopla of a time at Hoop Dee Doo on “Galentine’s” Day with my roomies

-Spending Valentine’s Day in Epcot with Madison (plus Anna & Elsa)

-Getting to create magical moments everyday as a cast member :)


And there you have it! Lots more is to come, so be sure to check back soon for my next post. Thanks for reading!


See ya real soon,

Maddi


61 views
bottom of page