top of page
Search

Q&A: My DCP Experience So Far

Updated: May 9, 2019

Hey there, readers! You’ve got questions, and I’ve got answers. If you’ve seen my social media lately, you know that this blog post will be in a Question & Answer format about my DCP experience so far. Thank you to everyone who submitted questions on Instagram and Facebook! Some really made me think and others made me laugh (I’m looking at you, roomies), so let’s get to it!


1. What’s one of your favorite memories so far?

This is a tough one! I’ve had some amazing experiences and it’s hard to choose just one. One that does stand out though is staying at Magic Kingdom after the park closed for a while with Marie, just hanging out and having fun on Main Street! Another one would be going on my first backstage tour at Tower of Terror with my fellow Frontierland merchandise cast members!


2. Who is the best DCP blogger?

I have a few favorites and give props to anyone who vlogs/blogs their DCP! It can be time consuming, but it is so worth it to capture the magical memories you make here. Before coming to Florida, I watched a ton of vlogs on YouTube. Some of my favorite vloggers are Emily Nelson, Chase Russell, Summer Phillips, Kyle Pallo, Shelby Rhodes, and happilyeverDanielle,


3. Who is your fav roomie?

Awe Madison, I can’t pick just one! You all are wonderful!


4. Why are you so darn cute and when can I visit?!?!?!?

You’re too sweet, Katie! I miss you! Come visit anytime :)


5. What’s your favorite part of Frontierland?

This is another difficult one! I have a newfound love and appreciation for Frontierland since I’m there practically everyday. Work-wise, I like all of the shops and areas I’m in because they’re unique in their own way. As a guest, I love Splash Mountain and it’s one of my favorite rides at WDW! I love getting to talk to guests about it everyday. In general, I love the details that went into the building of Frontierland (and all of WDW in general). Walt Disney Imagineering really has outdone themselves with their creativity and attention to detail.


6. If you could pick up a shift anywhere at WDW, where would you choose?

The Emporium for sure! It’s really the essence of Disney, located right on Main Street in the Magic Kingdom. I’m actually being deployed there all of this week and can’t wait to create some magic there! In general, I also want to work at all four parks and Disney Springs at some point in my program.


7. Have you seen/met any celebrities yet?

Surprisingly, yes I have! I met and saw a few football players when the NFL Pro Bowl was in Orlando a few weeks ago, such as Adam Thielen. I’ve also seen lots of Broadway performers as part of Epcot’s Festival of the Arts (Josh Strickland, Gavin Lee, & Ashley Brown to name a few). I’ve also met other “celebrities” (at least I consider them celebrities here in Disney!) — some of the DCP vloggers/bloggers I follow.


8. Do you have to practice emergency protocols as an entire staff?

Disney certainly has very specific protocols in place for safety and emergency purposes. As cast members, we are thoroughly trained and know how to handle situations -- safety is definitely Disney’s top priority as a company! This goes for the DCP as well -- before beginning any classes/events, we always review safety procedures in case of emergencies. Our motto is “Safe D begins with me!”


9. What’s your fav food at each park?

This may be the toughest question of all! Haha I’m definitely a Disney foodie and have my favorites for sure. There’s a lot of staple Disney foods that can be found at all (or almost all) of the parks such as churros, dole whips, turkey legs, Mickey ice cream bars, and Mickey pretzels. If I had to choose ones specific to each park though, they would be….


Magic Kingdom -- “the grey stuff” (Be Our Guest restaurant)

Epcot -- Lobster Bacon Mac & Cheese (from the Festival of the Arts, sadly it’s seasonal)

Animal Kingdom -- anything from Flame Tree Barbeque or Satu’li Canteen

Hollywood Studios -- Grilled Three-Cheese Sandwich (Woody’s Lunch Box)


Overall, my favorite park treats are definitely the Mickey Rice Krispie treats and churros! I think it’s time to move onto the next question though….I’m getting hungry just writing this!


10. Have you found your theater experience from last summer a help to you at Disney?

In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun and snap! The job’s a game!


I often think of my Mary Poppins experience from this summer while living and working at Disney! Even if it’s a long shift, I always remember to have fun while “onstage” and performing my role. Ironically enough, my roommate, Marie, was also involved in another production of Mary Poppins this summer and it’s fun to reminisce on our experiences! My involvement with theater (especially the Disney shows I’ve been in) has definitely carried over to working here and preserving the magic everyday in my role as a cast member.


And there you have it! If I didn’t get to answer your question, I hope to in a future blog post! It’s been a busy, productive, and fun-filled time so far on my DCP. Be sure to check back for future posts and also follow my social media pages to stay up-to-date on my latest adventures!


See ya real soon,

Maddi

101 views
bottom of page